Our People

Gwyneth Herbert


Gwyneth Herbert is a songwriter, performer and versatile musical adventurer. 2013 saw the launch of her sixth album The Sea Cabinet. Gwyneth is also a regular contributor to BBC radio, creative workshop leader and award-winning theatre composer and lyricist. Herbert won the Stiles and Drew Song of The Year Award for composition 'Lovely London Town' from original musical The A-Z of Mrs P, which opened at the Southwark Playhouse in 2014.  In April 2012, her one-act musical Before the Law, co-written with Christine Denniston, was nominated for the inaugural Sidney Brown Memorial Award for Most Promising New Work. Before The Law is a companion piece to After Lydia, a one-act musical based on Terence Rattigan’s play of the same name, which was commissioned by Sounds of England and was also a collaboration with Christine Denniston.  In 2014 she collaborated with artist Mel Brimfield in presenting The Palace That Joan Built, a celebration of the centenary of Joan Littlewood's birth, as part of the London Underground's 'Art on the Underground' programme. This included a live performance at Stratford Underground station.